2022 TOMA Annual Awards Recipients

During TOMA/TXACOFP’s 15th Annual Convention, TOMA presented the following awards to physicians for their exceptional leadership in the osteopathic profession. The awards were presented by TOMA President Katarina Lindley, DO, FACOFP, during the Installation and Awards Luncheon in Arlington, TX, on June 18, 2022. 

Distinguished Service Award

Brent Sanderlin, DO, FACOFP, FAAFP
University of the Incarnate Word School of Osteopathic Medicine

The Distinguished Service Award is TOMA’s most prestigious and highest honor in recognition of outstanding service to the osteopathic profession. This year’s Distinguished Service Award is presented to Brent Sanderlin, DO, FACOFP, FAAFP, of San Antonio, TX.

Dr. Sanderlin serves as an Associate Professor of Family Medicine at UIW-SOM. He received his medical degree from the UNTHSC-TCOM and completed a residency in Family Medicine at United States Naval Hospital in Jacksonville, FL; followed by nine years of service on active duty in the US Navy. Dr. Sanderlin has demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in scientific, professional, osteopathic education, and service to the osteopathic profession in Texas and at the national level. Dr. Sanderlin is a Past President of TOMA and has been a long-time member of both TOMA and the AOA.

New Physician of the Year Award

Katherine Pederson, DO, MS
Methodist Medical Group; Midlothian, TX

Dr. Katherine Pederson obtained her medical degree from AT Still University – KCOM. She then completed her residency at UNTHSC and was the first to graduate from the integrated class of Family Medicine and Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine. Dr. Pederson serves on TOMA’s Board of Trustees as the New Physician Trustee as well as on TOMA’s Membership Committee. Recipients of this award must have graduated within the last five years and have demonstrated a personal commitment to the osteopathic profession through successful leadership, advocacy, and community service.

Resident DO of the Year Award

   Jordan Sexe, DO

UT Health East Texas Internal Medicine Residency Program; Tyler, TX

TOMA presented its first-ever Osteopathic Resident of the Year Award to Jordan Sexe, DO. Dr. Sexe is completing his internal medicine residency at UT Health East Texas Internal Medicine Residency Program. He has demonstrated exceptional patient care, effective leadership, and a commitment to the osteopathic profession as an osteopathic resident.